Facebook Icon Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Instagram Icon

City Council Recognizes UTRGV Track & Field Teams

EDINBURG, TEXAS (April 4, 2018) – The Edinburg City Council issued a proclamation recognizing the outstanding performances of the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) men’s and women’s track and field teams at the 2018 Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Indoor Track & Field Championships.

UTRGV’s teams combined for five total championships in the competition.

On the men’s team, Anthony Magallon won the high jump contest clearing 2.06 meters. The jump currently ranks as No. 3 in program history.

Paul May won the men’s shot put competition with a throw of 16.58 meters. He was one of two competitors to surpass the 16-meter mark. May is the current shot put record holder with a 17.45 meter throw.

Abraham Chirchir earned two championships for the UTRGV men’s team after winning the 3,000-meter and 5,000-meter competitions. His performances earned him the 2018 WAC Freshman of the Year award.

Idatonye Cheetham-West was the winner of the women’s long jump with 6.03 meters. Cheetham-West’s performance at the WAC Championships earned her the High Point Award earning a total of 24 points. She is the current UTRGV record holder for the long jump and the 60-meter dash.