Facebook Icon Twitter Icon YouTube Icon Instagram Icon

Edinburg Elects New Mayor and Two New Councilmembers

Edinburg, Texas (Nov. 8, 2017) – Edinburg residents have elected Richard Molina as the City’s new Mayor.  Molina defeated incumbent Richard H. Garcia after a long fought battle.

Jorge “Coach” Salinas and Gilbert Enriquez will be the new councilmembers for Place 1 and Place 2. 

Salinas will replace Councilmember Richard Molina, who opted to run for Mayor instead of seeking re-election. 

Enriquez will replace Councilmember J.R. Betancourt, who did not seek re-election after two terms.

Mayor                                                      Total

Richard Molina                                        4518

Gina Marie Alamia                                    624

Richard H. Garcia (I)                              3278

Councilmember Place 1                          Total

Jorge “Coach” Salinas                            4160

Fern “Owls” McClaugherty                      792

Richard Gonzalez                                    3343 

Councilmember Place 2                          Total

Gilbert Enriquez                                      4442

Roland Villarreal                                     3176

The votes from the Nov. 7 Municipal General Election will be canvassed on November 15, at 5 p.m. in the City Council Chambers to be followed by the swearing-in of the newly elected officials.

Mayor Elect Richard Molina who, will preside over his first meeting at 6:30 p.m. following the swearing-in ceremony encourages the community to get involved and stay abreast of their city government.

City Council Meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month.  The meeting scheduled for Nov. 15 was originally scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 7, but due to the Election, Council rescheduled it. Regularly scheduled meetings start at 6 p.m. and they are broadcast live via the City’s PEG Channel 95-12 and streamed live on the City’s Website www.cityofedinburg.com.