City of Edinburg Vitals Statistics
8:00 A.M. - 4:30 P.M.
Birth & Death Records
The Vital Statistics Office issues and maintains birth and death certificates for the City of Edinburg and is able to issue abstract birth certificates to individuals born in the State of Texas.
Certified Birth Certificate - $23.00
Certified Death Certificate - $21.00
Each Additional Death Certificate - $4.00
Vinyl Cover (one vinyl cover for each record) - $2.00
Birth Record Search Fee - $22.00
Death Record Search Fee - $20.00
Methods of Payment:
- Money Orders (make payable to City of Edinburg)
- Credit/Debit Card (must belong to the cardholder)
*The City of Edinburg no longer issues Wallet or 1/2-Page birth certificates.
Birth and Death records have a specific exemption under the Public Information Act formerly known as the Open Records Act.
A birth or death record maintained by the Vital Statistics Section of the Department of State Health services or a Local Registration official is excerpted from (required public disclosure), except that:
- A birth record is public information and available to the public on and after the 75th anniversary of the date of birth as shown on the record filed with VSS or Local Registration official;
- A death record is pubic information and available to the public on and after the 25th anniversary of the date of death as shown on the record filed with VSS or Local Registration official [GS§552.115 (a-1,2)]
The Texas Department of State Health Services has the authority to control accessibility to birth and death certificates and has adopted rules defining who may be qualified to obtain certified copies. Please see the next section on "PROPERLY QUALIFIED APPLICANT" for specific information. [HSC §191.051] [25 TAC§181.1(22) (17)] (See the chapter on issuance for more information on qualified applicants.)
WARNING: A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 192.002 (b), knowingly induces or causes another to violate that section, or knowingly fails to comply with a rule adopted under that section. An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor. [HSC§195.003]